Freewire TV over broadband available

Marcus Liassides has announced Freewire TV. Freewire delivers broadcast TV over broadband connections to the UK.

The highlights are :

  • Most of the Freeview channel bouquet delivered over broadband. The quality is  good. I’ve used it over a standard DSL line to a 42 inch plasma.
  • Available initially over the Super Janet network (but see the note below)
  • Delivered to a free player downloadable from the freewire website
  • It is also H264 so I assume you can just run it through VLC, although I haven’t tried.
  • Runs over multicast-enabled Networks (e.g. SuperJanet)–most core telco networks are or will be multicast enabled in the next couple of years.

You can read more about the offering from Informitv

I think Freewire is available to Bulldog DSL subscribers as well. So I would be interested if anyone who uses bulldog wants to test the service and tell me what it’s like. XP only, Mac support coming soon. (Apparently not right now–I’m checking on this. 5 November 2006)

(I am a non-exec on Inuk Networks, the parent of Freewire TV).

2 Comments

  1. Posted November 5, 2006 at 4:42 am | Permalink

    I have a Bulldog 8mb line, and I installed the Freewire software, but no video is shown (schedules only)
    I have a router, should I open/forward any specific port?
    Please advice
    Thanks

  2. Posted November 5, 2006 at 12:29 pm | Permalink

    Ok. I think this might be my mistake. sorry for leading you up the garden path!
    However will check with the team.


Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

